Educational System in Australia

Educational System in Australia

The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF), a unified network of national qualifications of schools, vocational education and training, governs post-compulsory education and the higher education industry. There are two sectors in Post-secondary education: high education and vocational/technical education. Australia's vocational education and training (VET) sector must satisfy the nationally agreed criteria of the Australian Quality Training Framework (AQTF).

Altogether there are 43 Australian universities, and other well known higher education institutions, in many regional centres including the capital city of Australia. Their courses are of very high standard and of high value worldwide to meet the employment criteria.

School education (Primary and Secondary)

School education is similar across all of Australia with only minor variations between states and territories. School education (primary and secondary) is compulsory between the ages of six and sixteen (Year 1 to Year 9 or 10). School education is 13 years and divided into:

  • Primary school - Runs for seven or eight years, starting at Kindergarten/Preparatory through to Year 6 or 7.
  • Secondary school - Runs for three or four years, from Years 7 to 10 or 8 to 10.
  • Senior secondary school - Runs for two years, Years 11 and 12.

Tertiary education

Tertiary education includes both higher education (including universities) and vocational education and training (VET).

Language of instruction

English is the official language of Australia and the main language of instruction in the education system. Many schools offer bilingual programs or programs in other languages.

Australian Qualifications Framework

The Australian education system is distinguished from many other countries by the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). The AQF was established in 1995 and is a national policy that covers qualifications from the tertiary education sector (higher education and vocational education and training) in addition to the school-leaving certificate; the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education. The AQF has 10 levels and links school, vocational and university education qualifications into one national system. This allows you to move easily from one level of study to the next, and from one institution to another, as long as you satisfy student visa requirements. It allows for choice and flexibility in career planning. All qualifications in the AQF help prepare you for both further study and your working life.

If you are studying an AQF qualification, you can be sure that your institution is Government-authorised and nationally accredited, and that your degree or other AQF qualification will be genuine.

Universities and Higher Education

Australian higher education modernity and reputation relies on a huge number of educational providers including universities and different training organizations. Currently, there are 43 universities across the country. The vast majority of universities are public except two private universities.

Popular courses in Australia

  • Administration Courses
  • Accounting Courses
  • Agriculture Courses
  • Architecture Courses
  • Building Courses
  • Environmental Studies Courses
  • Computer Sciences Courses
  • Engineering Courses
  • Health Sciences Courses
  • Finance Courses
  • Humanities Courses
  • Law Courses
  • Journalism Courses
  • Psychology Courses

Want to study in Australia? Let's discuss in detail

If you are considering pursuing your higher education, whether vocational or academic, in Australia, then let's discuss in detail about the courses, university, cost etc. Contact us by pre-booking your free consultation appointment and let's discuss your requirements in detail in out Studygram office.